The Leading Authority For Campus Public Safety

Association News

Deadline Extended to 3/27: Annual Awards and Scholarship Nominations

Awards and Recognition Committee Chair Randy Richardson and then-President Paul Ominsky presented the Award for Merit to Officer Veronica Baeza of the Biola University Department of Public Safety in 2019. Credit: Mike RitterMembers of campus police and public safety agencies regularly distinguish themselves by exhibiting courage, commitment, leadership, and professionalism. IACLEA proudly recognizes personal excellence and honors the heroes who work tirelessly every day to make campus communities around the world safer.

Each year, the IACLEA Awards and Recognition Committee requests nominations from IACLEA member institutions, reviews them, and selects the eventual winners. Each award recipient receives a commemorative gift and is recognized at the awards ceremony, during the Annual Conference.

The nominations period for the 2019–2020 IACLEA Awards has been extended and is open through March 27, 2020. Please consider nominating a colleague for one of these awards.

Officer Memorial: This award is presented posthumously to honor a campus public safety officer killed in the line of duty.

Valor: This award is for an act or acts involving personal risk while acting on behalf of the college/university/campus or members of the college/university/campus.

Innovations in Community Policing: This award is for outstanding service and initiative supporting the effective promotion of the Community Oriented Policing philosophy.

Merit: This award is for displaying professionalism and excellence in performing his/her duties or whose actions and attitude bring credit to the campus law enforcement community. 

Administrative Excellence: This award is for outstanding service in areas such as policy and planning, investigations, and/or crime prevention.

The complete descriptions of each award and the nomination criteria are available here.

Scholarships: The IACLEA Scholarship program grants three $1,000 scholarships to students at IACLEA member institutions: the James L. McGovern Scholarship; the IACLEA Annual Scholarship; and the Mary Voswinkel Memorial Scholarship.

The complete descriptions of each scholarship and the nomination criteria are available here.

Member Resources

CONNECTIONS is IACLEA's member community featuring peer networking and a full library of resources for the betterment of campus public safety.