The Leading Authority For Campus Public Safety

Association News

President’s Award Highlights Exceptional Service to IACLEA

During the Virtual Annual Conference Then-President John Vinson recognized four dedicated IACLEA members for their exceptional service to the Association and its members with the 2020 President’s Award. He selected our friends at CriticalArc as recipients of the 2020 Corporate Partner of the Year Award. 

“It was genuinely an inspiring task to consider who to select for the 2020 President’s Award,” Vinson said. “So many members demonstrate their commitment to service by sharing their time and expertise generously with the Association.”

2020 President’s Award winners

Dr. Lewis Eakins, Idaho State University

As chair of the Education and Learning Committee, Director Eakins’ influence is represented in many signature IACLEA initiatives. He led efforts to ensure IACLEA’s leadership programs—the Executive Development Institute and the First-Line Supervisor Institute—reflect innovative leadership training for all members. Additionally, he served as one of the core instructors for both leadership institutes. The committee also works to provide additional training to IACLEA members throughout the country. President Vinson noted the value of Director Eakins’ guidance this year as a member of IACLEA’s Strategic Planning Task Force and welcomed him to the Board of Directors.



Dr. Jessica Luedtke, Medical College of Wisconsin

President Vinson congratulated Commission Chair Luedtke on her new “doctor” title. In addition to furthering her own education, for five years, she has chaired IACLEA’s Accreditation Commission, a vital role for an Association whose members are committed to continuous improvement. During her tenure, she has led strategic planning efforts for the Accreditation program, updating the Accreditation processes to support virtual, on-site accreditation assessment procedures. She is committed to ensuring IACLEA Accreditation standards are consistent with best practices and appropriate for all agencies.


Kimberly Spears-McNatt, The Ohio State University

Chief Spears-McNatt has been instrumental in two of the “unsung hero” projects that are imperative for a top-performing IACLEA. She served on the Conflict of Interest Review Committee and the Bylaws Review Task Force. As a member of the Education and Learning Committee, she played a vital role in the planning and development of the inaugural First-Line Supervisor Institute. She presented at multiple workshops during the 2019 Annual Conference & Exposition. Her commitment to IACLEA helps ensure that IACLEA is consistently striving to provide services that exceed the needs of all members, noted President Vinson.


August Washington, Vanderbilt University

Senior AVC Washington concluded his service on the Board, where his insights and initiatives were highly valued. He led and served on several Board committees and task forces. He is committed to increasing diversity within IACLEA and on the Board of Directors. Perhaps more than his official leadership roles, President Vinson noted that Senior AVC Washington is known as a colleague, leader, mentor, and friend to many IACLEA members across the miles (and kilometers). He consistently contacts leaders across the country to offer support when they experience various leadership challenges. Vanderbilt University Police Department hosted one of the most highly attended Annual Conference training events, in Nashville in 2015.



President Vinson thanked and offered extensive gratitude to each award winner.

Member Resources

CONNECTIONS is IACLEA's member community featuring peer networking and a full library of resources for the betterment of campus public safety.