The Leading Authority For Campus Public Safety

Merit Award Winner

Merit Award Winner

The Award for Merit is presented to a campus officer who each day displays professionalism and excellence in performing his/her duties or whose actions and attitude bring credit to the campus law enforcement community.

2018 Merit Award Recipient: Chief Dale Brophy, University of Utah

Chief Dale G. Brophy

The 2018 Award for Merit is presented to Chief Dale G. Brophy, University of Utah Department of Public Safety.  The University of Utah experienced numerous public safety challenges during 2017, one of the largest being the senseless murder of a very talented international student and pre-computer science major. Chief Brophy’s leadership during this chaotic event was exemplary. He effectively managed every detail of the incident that included hundreds of officers converging on the campus to assist in the campus lockdown, the investigation of the crime, the apprehension of the suspect, and the constant pressure of crisis communication during the event.

Photo by ©Mike Ritter 2018

Past Recipients

2018 - Chief Dale G. Brophy, University of Utah 

2017 - Lieutenant Thomas Calucci, University of Texas-San Antonio 

2016 - Sgt. Jose Alvarez, Officer Mark Mugica, & Sgt. Archibald Mendoza, Biola University

2015 - Sergeant Kevin Gray, The University of Texas Police at Houston

2014 - Officer Jonathan Logan, Alamo Colleges Police Department

2013 - Officers Jennifer Ockerman and Emily Smith, University of Kentucky

2012 - Captain John Adams, University of California Los Angeles

2011 - Officers David Coakley and Adam Koehler of the New York State University at Cortland Police Department

2010 - Officer Matthew Mastrosimone of College of New Jersey Police Department

2009 - Detectives Thomas Bacigalupi and Patricia Millan, George Mason University

2008 - Officer Ronald Guichon, University of Illinois at Chicago

2007 - Officer Yvonne Meyer, Parkland College

2006 - Sergeant Robert J. Vaccaro, North Shore Community College District

2005 -Officer Douglas Boortz, Florida State University

2004 - Officer Richard G. Dohme, University of Nevada – Las Vegas

2003 - Sergeant John Ojeisekhoba, Biola University

2002 - Mr. Brendell Klaasen - University of Stellenbosch

2001 - Sergeant Allison Valles - University of Texas at El Paso

2000 - Sergeant E. Steven Milne of the Utah State University Police Department

1999 - Sergeant Troy Williamson, University of Central Florida Police Department.

OVW Campus Program Training

IACLEA in partnership with the East Central University’s Safety Training and Technical Assistance for Administrators, Boards, and Law Enforcement (STTAABLE) presents the Office on Violence Against Women’s Campus Program Training. These workshops are currently open and are free for all.