The Leading Authority For Campus Public Safety

Officer Memorial

Officer Memorial

Sadly, campus public safety officers, like municipal police officers, are killed in the line of duty far too often. In fact, since 1923, 53 campus safety officers have paid the ultimate sacrifice while carrying out their duties. The names of these heroes are inscribed on the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (pictured above) in Washington, DC. IACLEA remembers them here.

Click here to read President Eric Heath's message at the start of National Police Week 2021. 

In March 2017, the IACLEA Board of Directors held a special ceremony at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial to honor the then 43 (now 50) brave men and women who have died in the line of duty. On a cold, rainy morning, IACLEA leaders read the roll call of names and honored their service. Please watch the powerful video or view the slideshow, both below.


Officer Memorial Award

IACLEA honors fallen campus public safety officers each year with the Officer Memorial Award, given to a representative of the fallen officer’s department during the Awards Ceremony at the Annual Conference & Exposition. See past honorees, below.

The Officer Memorial Award honors the memory of a campus officer or employee of a campus public safety, police, or security department who made the ultimate sacrifice while serving his/her college/university/campus. Learn more about nominating an officer here.

Past Honorees:

2018 - Corporal Monty D. Platt, West Texas A&M University Police Department

2017 - Sergeant Collin Rose, Wayne State University & Officer Jody Smith, Georgia Southwestern State University

2016 - Officer Garrett Swasey, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs

2015 - Officer Marc U. Kelley, Trinity University

2013 - Officer Sean A. Collier, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2012 - Officer Deriek Crouse, Virginia Tech

2008 - Officer Thomas Devlin, Boston College 


Member Resources

CONNECTIONS is IACLEA's member community featuring peer networking and a full library of resources for the betterment of campus public safety.