The Leading Authority For Campus Public Safety

Association News

Ten Agencies Recognized for Accreditation Achievements

IACLEA Accreditation denotes the gold standard in campus public safety operations and management. At the 2017 Annual Conference, ten agencies were recognized for their efforts to achieve IACLEA Accreditation. Each agency voluntarily sought to implement policies, procedures, and training to comply with the more than 200 standards. They provided documentation of their compliance and received a thorough evaluation by IACLEA’s independent assessors who verified the agency’s compliance.

Congratulations to these agencies for their accomplishments that assure the public, parents, and the university community that your campus public safety agency adheres to the highest professional standards.

“Achieving accreditation is the culmination of a department’s efforts to conduct itself according to the highest standards and industry-specific best practices,” said IACLEA Accreditation Commission Chair Jessica Luedtke, Assistant Director, Accreditation Manager, Medical College of Wisconsin, Public Safety. “Accreditation exemplifies a department’s commitment to its campus community and the population it serves. Accreditation is achievable for departments of all types and sizes and is invaluable not only to the campus public safety agency, but to the institution of higher education at which it operates.”

One agency was recognized for initial Accreditation

The University of California – San Francisco (UCSF) Police Department, led by Chief Mike Denson.

UCSF, a center of health sciences research, patient care, and education, operates four major campus sites within the city of San Francisco and one in Fresno, California. The university employs nearly 2,800 faculty and 22,000 staff, making it San Francisco’s second-largest employer. The police department consists of 56 sworn officers, augmented by more than 80 civilian staff members, including security officers, dispatchers, analysts, and clerical workers.

Two agencies have achieved Accreditation for a second consecutive term

The Towson University Police Department, led by Chief Bernard J. Gerst.

Towson is located in Baltimore County, Maryland, and it is the second-largest university in the University System of Maryland. More than 20,000 full-time and part-time students, including over 17,000 undergraduates, are enrolled in the university. The police department is a full-service law enforcement unit, established in 1976 and employs 41 sworn police officers.

The University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC) Police Department, led by Chief Gary Gailliard.

The Health Science Center consists of a 33-acre, 1.2 million square-foot campus located in Fort Worth’s Cultural District, serving 560,000 patient visits annually. The UNTHSC Police Department is staffed by 24 full-time employees. Twelve UNTHSC police officers are licensed with the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education as peace officers, while the agency also employs a number of non-licensed personnel to serve as communications officers and public service officers.

Four agencies have achieved their third consecutive term of Accreditation

The Cornell University Police Department, led by Chief Kathy Zoner.

Founded in 1865, the university is located on 745 acres in Ithaca, New York. With an enrollment of more than 20,000 students, the department employs 71 staff members, including 46 sworn officers. A part-time complement of 25 non-sworn employees, the Cornell Police Auxiliary, are maintained by the department to perform security and escort services for the campus.

The University of Delaware Police Department, led by Chief Patrick Ogden.

The university’s main campus is in Newark, Delaware, situated midway between Philadelphia and Baltimore. Four satellite campuses help support a total student enrollment of over 23,000. The department employs 49 sworn officers and consists of four sections: Police Services, Emergency Communication and Technology Services, Support Services, and Administrative Services.

The University of Texas – Houston Police Department, led by Chief William Adcox.

Providing services to the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center and UT Health Science Center at Houston, this department is the largest of the 15 agencies in the University of Texas System. The police department includes 94 sworn officers, a significant civilian and security staff, and a robust electronic security system.

The University of Wisconsin – Madison Police Department, led by Chief Kristen Roman.

Founded when Wisconsin achieved statehood in 1848, it is the flagship campus of the University of Wisconsin System. The 933-acre main campus includes four National Historic Landmarks and supports more than 43,300 undergraduate and graduate students and employs a staff of 121 and 61 police officers. The agency also holds Accreditation from CALEA and the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Accreditation Group.

Two agencies have achieved their fourth consecutive term of Accreditation.

The University of New Hampshire Police Department, led by Chief Paul H. Dean.

The university was founded in 1866 in Hanover and moved to its current location in Durham in 1891. The largest institution in the state’s university system, nearly 15,000 students are enrolled at the 1,100-acre campus. Police personnel patrol the campus using marked and unmarked vehicles, foot patrols, motorcycles, bicycles, and Segways.

The University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio Police Department, led by Chief Michael Parks.

Chartered as the South Texas Medical School in 1959, it is the largest health sciences university in South Texas, serving San Antonio and the 50,000-square-mile area of Central and South Texas. The agency’s 110 employees provide law enforcement and security services to more than 400,000 visitors and patients of the Health Center annually.

One agency achieved its fifth consecutive term of Accreditation.

The University of Florida Police Department, led by Chief Linda Stump-Kurnick.

The agency is comprised of 88 sworn law enforcement officers and 52 civilian employees, offering multiple services including a Criminal Investigations Division, a Bicycle Patrol Team, a Critical Incident Response Team, Canine Teams, a Motorcycle Unit, an Office of Victim Advocacy, and a Community Services Division. The department also holds national law enforcement Accreditation through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc., (CALEA), and, in 1997, was the first university police department to become state accredited through the Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation, Inc. (CFA).

The Accreditation Commission recognized the service of three members who are transitioning off the Commission.

  • Connie Sampson, associate vice president for critical infrastructure & building security and safety at Georgia State University
  • Michael Quinn, chief security oficer for Johnson & Wales University, and
  • Frank Zebedis, assistant vice president & chief of police at Winthrop University

All have or shortly will retire from their respective positions and, subsequently, submitted their resignations from the Commission. We are grateful for their commitment to and support of IACLEA and the Accreditation program. Each has contributed to the success of the program and its efforts on behalf of the association.

The Accreditation Commission wishes to thank the program’s two Corporate Sponsors: G4S and D. Stafford & Associates for their continued support and encouragement.

All photos © Mike Ritter 2017 The University of California – San Francisco (UCSF) Police Department, led by Chief Mike Denson.

Member Resources

CONNECTIONS is IACLEA's member community featuring peer networking and a full library of resources for the betterment of campus public safety.